Canada Window Tint Laws

OvalCreated with Sketch.
OvalCreated with Sketch.

Canada Window Tint Laws

Find car window tint laws by state so you can know which automotive window tint percentage is legal in your state.

2021 Window Tint Laws by State Chart

Below is a full breakdown of car window tint laws and legal tint percentages state by state. Using this chart you can figure out which shade of tint is the right choice for you.

As you read these car tint laws, remember that window tint percentages refer to the amount of light allowed in. This is also known as the Visible Light Transmission (VLT) percent.

The windshield tinting laws refer to the amount of the windshield that can be legally tinted or the amount of tint allowed on the entire windshield, depending on the state’s regulations.

Please note: The accuracy, completeness, adequacy or currency of the content is not warranted or guaranteed. We are not lawyers or a law firm and we do not provide legal advice. We recommend you consult a lawyer or other appropriate professional if you want legal advice.

Click your state below for more information on the car window tint laws in that state.

Window Tint Shades Chart – Window Tint Percentage Examples

StateFront Side WindowsBack Side WindowsRear WindowsWindshieldReflectivityOther Restrictions
Alabama32%32%32%6 inchesno more than 20% reflectivenone
Alaska70%40%40%5 inchesno metallic or mirrored tintingno red, yellow or amber tinting allowed
Arizona33%anyanytinting allowed to top of the manufacturer's as-1 lineno more than 35% reflectivered and amber not permitted. back window tinting requires the use of dual side mirrors
Arkansas25%25%10%5 inchesno metallic or mirrored tintingnone
California70%anyany4 inchesno more reflective than a standard windowred, amber, and blue not allowed, dual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Colorado27%27%27%4 inchesno metallic or mirrored tintingred and amber not permitted, back window tinting requires the use of dual side mirros
Connecticut35%35%anynon-reflective tint above the as-1 lineno more than 21% reflectivedual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Delaware70%anyanynon-reflective tint above the as-1 lineno metallic or mirrored tintingdual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Florida28%15%15%non-reflective tint allowed above the as-1 lineno more than 25% reflectivedual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Georgia32%32%32%6 inchesno more than 20% reflectivered and amber not allowed
Hawaii35%35%35%no inch requirent, must allow 70% of lightno metallic or mirrored tintingdual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Idaho35%20%35%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno more than 35% reflectivedual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Illinois35%35%35%6 inchesmust be non-reflectivedual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Indiana30%30%30%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno more than 25% reflectivenone
Iowa70%anyany tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno excessive reflections allowed, but not specifiednone
Kansas35%35%35%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno metallic or mirrored tintingred, amber and yellow are prohibited and must have dual side mirrors for back tinted windows
Kentucky35%18%18%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno more than 25% reflectivenone
Louisiana40%25%12%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno more than 20% reflectivenone
Maine35%anyany4 inchesmust be non-reflectivedual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Maryland35%35%35%5 inchesno lawred, amber and yellow are prohibited and must have dual side mirrors for back tinted windows
Massachusetts35%35%35%6 inchesno more than 35% reflectivemust have dual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Michiganany percent, but only 4 inches from the top of windowanyany4 inchesno more than 35% reflectivenone
Minnesota50%50%50%none allowedno more than 20% reflectivenone
Mississippi28%28%28%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno more than 20% reflectivenone
Missouri35%anyanytinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno more than 35% reflectivemust have dual side mirrors for back tinted windows
Montana24%14%14%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno more than 35% reflectivenone
Nebraska35%20%20%5 inches or as-1 line, whichever comes firstno more than 35% reflectiveunclear on side mirrors, but red, amber and yellow are not permitted
Nevada35%anyanytinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno lawtinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 line
New Hampshireno tinting allowed35%35%6 inchesno metallic or mirrored tintingdual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
New Jerseyno tinting allowedanyanyno tinting allowedno metallic or mirrored tintingdual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
New Mexico20%20%20%5 inches or as-1 line, whichever comes firstno lawdual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
New York70%70%any6 inchesno metallic or mirrored tintingdual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
North Carolina35%35%35% tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno more than 20% reflectivered, amber and yellow are prohibited and must have dual side mirrors for back tinted windows
North Dakota50%anyanyno more than 70%no metallic or mirrored tintingdual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Ohio50%anyanyno more than 70%no more reflective than a standard windownone
Oklahoma25%25%25%5 inches or as-1 line, whichever comes firstno more than 20% reflectivedual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Oregon35%35%35%6 inchesno more than 13% reflectivered, green, yellow, black and amber tints are not allowed, and must have dual side mirrors for back tinted windows
Pennsylvania70%70%70%none allowedno metallic or mirrored tintingdual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Rhode Island70%70%70%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno lawnone
South Carolina27%27%27%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 linemust be non-reflectivered, amber and yellow are prohibited and must have dual side mirrors for back tinted windows
South Dakota35%20%20%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno metallic or mirrored tintingnone
Tennessee35%35%35%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno metallic or mirrored tintingnone
Texas25%25%any5 inches or as-1 line, whichever comes firstno more than 25% reflectivered, amber, and blue not allowed. dual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Utah43%anyanytinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno metallic or mirrored tintingdual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Vermontno tinting allowedanyanytinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno metallic or mirrored tintingdual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Virginia50%35%35%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno more than 20% reflectivered, amber and yellow are prohibited and must have dual side mirrors for back tinted windows
Washington24%24%24%6 inchesno more than 35% reflectivered, green, yellow, black and amber tints are not allowed, and must have dual side mirrors for back tinted windows
Washington D.C.70%50 percent for cars, 35 percent for multi-purpose vehicles50 percent for cars, 35 percent for multi-purpose vehicles5 inches or as-1 line, whichever comes firstno lawnone
West Virginia35%35%35%5 inches20% reflectivered, amber and yellow are prohibited and must have dual side mirrors for back tinted windows
Wisconsin50%35%35%tinting allowed to the top of the manufacturer’s as-1 lineno lawdual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Wyoming28%28%28%5 inches or as-1 line, whichever comes firstno more than 20% reflectivedual side mirrors required for back tinted windows
Find out more

Window Tint Laws FAQs

OvalCreated with Sketch.

Is window tinting legal?

Yes in most states window tint is legal as long as you don't tint darker than the allowed visible light transmittance.

What is the darkest legal tint?

The darkest legal tint will vary by state. Each state has its own laws that dictate the darkest shade of tint allowed on the side windows, rear windows, and windshield.

How do I make my tint look darker?

The best way to make your tint look darker is to remove the existing window tint and replace with a darker window tint. You can layer tint over tint however it is no recommended and in most cases will void the warranty on the tint.

Is limo window tint illegal?

Limo tint usually refers to 5% tint, which blocks out 95% of the light. Whether or not limo tint is legal or illegal will depend on which windows you apply it to and which state you live in. Refer to the chart above to see what darkness tint is legal in your state.

OvalCreated with Sketch.

Is 30 percent tint dark?

30 percent is considered a medium darkness shade. The darkest shade usually available is 5% which blocks 95% of the light from passing through. 50% and above is considered clear. 30% is right in the middle which is why it is a middle shade tint and one of the most popular shade tint for front side windows.

How do cops know if your tint is too dark?

Law Enforcement uses tint meters which measures the amount of light that passes through the glass. The amount of light is measured as a % know as VLT (visible light transmission).

What's the darkest window tint percentage?

5% is the darkest window tint percentage you'll find commonly available. There are a few manufacturers that make film as dark as 2%.